Travel Tips: Carry-On Fundamentals

I travel a lot for my shows and my appearances around the country and to the other side of the world. Over the years, many of my gal pals and fans have either asked me what they should carry-on or they have shared their fundamental carry-on necessities with me. Especially with the holidays coming up, I decided it was time to put together a handy list just for you.

I recommend putting the following “Carry-On Fundamentals” into a cute tote bag that fits under the seat so you can have easy access to them during flight.

medication
I think most seasoned travelers know carrying on medications is most important, but if you are an inexperienced traveler this might not be as obvious. There are many Transportation Security Administration regulations of what you can and cannot carry on, but always take your medications with you on board just in case your luggage doesn’t arrive in time or is lost.

moisturizer
Remember to moisturize often during the flight. Collagenesis 24 Hour Wrinkle & Dryness Relief Balm comes in a 1.3-ounce size that is perfect for carry-ons (and TSA regulations).

small travel toothbrush/toothpaste
I recently discovered Colgate Wisps mini toothbrushes. They are smaller than your lipstick, they are disposable and they have a breath-freshening bead to give you a clean, fresh mouth without water or rinsing.

antibacterial single use wipes
I like Wet Ones Hands & Face Wipes Singles. They are thick, moist cloths and great for you to use for those quick clean-ups when soap and water are not available.

travel-size facial tissue and travel-size nail kit

sunglasses, eyeglasses, contact lenses

eye drops
When your tired eyes get dried out, lubricant eye drops, like SYSTANE® ULTRA, are especially soothing for long flights.

iPod

mini make-up bag
For a mini makeover before you land be sure to have: Wet Lips Super Shine Gloss, Bright Eyes – Eye Enhancing Treatment, Little Black Books of Looks, and Luxe Premier Fiber Optic Mascara.

classy cashmere shawl
Not only does a shawl looks great on you at night when you arrive at your destination, but it can keep you warm while in flight or in an over-chilled hotel room.

one pair of clean panties & a bra
Just in case your luggage is lost or delayed.

I hope my check list of carry-on fundamentals helps. If you have travel tips of your own not listed here, please include them in the Comments section below.

Travel Lightly and Lovely,

One thought on “Travel Tips: Carry-On Fundamentals

  1. Candace says:

    I always bring gum with me on my flight, and chew it just enough to make my ears pop so I can hear all my friends when I land!

Leave a comment